Brandon Prust voted the 2012-13 Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy recipient

Grant Halverson | Getty

Saturday, 20.04.2013 / 9:30 AM / News


MONTREAL– Members of the media covering the Montreal Canadiens voted forward Brandon Prust as the 2012-13 recipient of the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy. The trophy is awarded annually to the member of the Canadiens who played a dominant role during the regular season, without earning any particular honor. Prust succeeds Josh Gorges who was the recipient in 2011-12.

Grant Halverson | Getty
Grant Halverson | Getty

Prust received the most first-place votes in the race for the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy, earning 83 points in the overall standings, ahead of defenseman Francis Bouillon (58 points) and goaltender Peter Budaj (52 points).

A native of London, Ontario, Prust has registered 13 points (5 goals, 8 assists) in 34 games since the beginning of the 2012-13 season. He tallied the game-winning goal on February 18 against Carolina. He leads the Canadiens and ranks sixth in the NHL with 104 penalty minutes. He ranks tied for first on the team with a +11 plus/minus differential. Prust is second on the Canadiens with 78 hits. He missed eight games this season with a shoulder injury suffered on March 9 at Tampa Bay.

In his first season with the Canadiens, the 6’2’’, 192 lbs forward played his 300th career game in the NHL on March 2 against Pittsburgh.

Created in 1981 to honor the memory of the legendary sportswriter who spent most of his professional career covering the Canadiens, the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy was first awarded to Doug Jarvis following the 1981-82 season.

Brandon Prust will be presented with the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy during a ceremony prior to Saturday’s game against the Washington Capitals at the Bell Centre.